The house where the Hotel Santa Lucía functions was built in 1859 by the governor of the province, Don Manuel Vega Dávila. The house remained under the Vega family for over a hundred years, and during this time, its walls were witnesses of very important events and moments in the Region’s history.
In 1999 the house’s restoration and adaptation began for the creation of the Hotel Santa Lucía; this restoration has preserved and rescued the architecture of this beautiful house as an example of traditional buildings of the XIX century, incorporating everyday comforts with the charm of the old days.
In 2002, Cuenca awarded the Hotel the medal “Fray José Maria Vargas,” for best restoration of a historic building.
Hotel Santa Lucía is located in one of the most beautiful historic, commercial and financial areas of Cuenca, at a short distance from Parque Calderón.